The umpires placed the runner at third in Jeopardy when the home plate ump. overruled the call at 1st. You must place the runner back at third!
Printable View
The umpires placed the runner at third in Jeopardy when the home plate ump. overruled the call at 1st. You must place the runner back at third!
I know this topic has been dead a while, but I had to chime in since it's been that long since I looked at this part of the forum.
1. Home Plate Ump should never over-turn a safe/out call.
2. Home Plate Ump can assist if help is requested by the field ump who cannot see if a first baseman has pulled off the bag. However, this type of appeal should take place before making the "safe/out" call.
3. If the base umpire appealed to the home plate umpire before making the "out" call, then the base runner is out for leaving the field of play. If not, then the runner must be put back on third.
You'll see anything at Hunter Wright and the AAC Tournament.